Mountain Equipment Co-op Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Mountain Equipment Co-op
Shop Bells or
Choose a Category

Member Reviews for Third Eye Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount

Third Eye Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount

Great for urban cycling, this mini-mirror affixes to the rim of your microshell style helmet to get that rear-view mirror image of traffic behind you. Secure Duel-Lock fixture attaches to the helmet rim and the mirror snaps on to it.
Average Member Rating:
3.941 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
12 out of 15(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Member Reviews for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Review 1 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Collingwood , ON
MEC MEMBER

Too fiddly

Date:January 7, 2014
Requires constant adjustment and specific head tilt to achieve proper view. Larger mirror is required if you want to have confidence in what is coming your way.
Cons: Unreliable
Review 2 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Up North, MB
Age: 25-34
Gender: female
Gear Style: Minimalist
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Handy

Date:February 17, 2013
At first, I was frustrated because I couldn't focus behind me. The trick for me was to focus with one eye while the other watched the road in front of me.
It took a bit to get used to but I love it.
It's handy to have and I feel safer on the streets.
I used the sticky backing but also slide it between the foam of my helmet and the actual case once I found a place i wanted it situated.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value, Reliable
Review 3 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Sault Ste. Marie Ontario
Age: 45-55
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

good addition to any helmet

Date:March 10, 2012
We use these on our helmets when riding our fitness bikes on our local paved road, which features speeding logging trucks, and back gravel roads. It is very comforting knowing what is coming up behind you.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 4 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
By:
Location: Edmonton area
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

Not for me

Date:November 11, 2011
I really did give this product a good try but even using temporary attachment and moving it to different locations on my helmet, I could never it into a position that worked for me. In the end I gave up and purchased a Miryrcle Mountain bar end mirror and couldn't be happier with it.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Flimsy
Review 5 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Campbell River BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Very Good purchase

Date:October 1, 2011
Much better than handlebar mounted mirrors because there is no vibration. I ordered the visor mounted model and this one. Because I wear glasses, the longer arm on this item allows me to focus on images more readily. It took about three bike rides before I grew comfortable in using this mirror, but now I would not want to ride without it. I am having difficulty in keeping the adhesive attached because the point of attachment corresponds to where the helmet curves.
Pros: Simple, Reliable
Cons: retaining adhesion
Review 6 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational

Little mirror

Date:June 12, 2011
The tape that holds the mirror on is effective. The mirror itself is not. The arm is small and the mirror is small. This makes the mirror a poor vision aid.
I think a handle mirror would be a much better choice, especially if you bike with a backpack.
Review 7 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Orangeville, ON
Age: over 55
Gender: female
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Casual/Recreational
MEC MEMBER

excellent buy

Date:June 11, 2011
Well worth buying - far superior to a handlebar mounted mirror and easy to attach to my helmet. Great value for the money.
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 8 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Toronto
Age: over 55
Gender: male

Mirror Foam Helmet Mount

Date:June 10, 2010
I bought this item because I liked the larger mirror than the one like it I have had for many years (which was clipped to my eyeglasses). I also liked the way it was to be mounted - glued permanently to my cycle helmet.
The application of the mirror to my helmet was a bit tricky and I decided to attach it inside the helmet using one of the glue papers. I thought this was successful but found out after one ride that the glue was not sticking completely and the mirror was pulling away from the helmet. I then pulled the mirror mount off the helmet, sanded the attachment area of the helmet (as had been suggested in the instructions), and used the second "glue paper" that came with the kit. (thankfully there was a second "glue paper"). The glue attachment has separated a little bit but the mirror is still quite usable. If I need to reglue I will use epoxy. The mirror works well in traffic, so that I am able to see oncoming cars and trucks behind me.
Pros: Lightweight, the glue attachment is not reliable
Cons: Expensive, Unreliable, Complicated
Review 9 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Mont-Tremblant, QC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Would be lost without it.

Date:June 10, 2010
Very useful for knowing what is coming from behind. It's like a helmet - once you start using it you feel naked without it. Even helps to avoid dropping a weaker rider who is drafting.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Good Value
Review 10 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: North Vancouver, BC
Age: over 55
Gender: male
Gear Style: Comfort Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist

Very practical and effective

Date:June 4, 2010
I have had this mirror for about 6 months now and it works very well. It takes a little while to get used to setting it up and adjusting it properly, but once you get the hang of it, it's easy to use. You can move the mirror in any direction, so that helps a lot! One problem with it is that you must set it up quite often because the mirror gets moved for various reason, i.e. banging against anything.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable
Review 11 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Competitive Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Don't leave home without it.

Date:January 27, 2010
I commute along city streets, and have found this mirror to be the most essential piece of safety gear I use. It's as much about watching what's coming up behind you, as it is about what's in front. And whether you're doing a bit of racing with other bicyclists or zipping through downtown streets, the mirror allows you the luxury of not diverting your concentration by having to constantly shoulder check. The only down side with this particular model is that the plastic ball joints wear out quickly - but have found that a dab of paper glue will stiffen them up - and should add years to its life.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple, Reliable, lifesaver, easy to fix when worn
Cons: wears out-gets loose
Review 12 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
By:
Location: Grimsby, ON
Age: 25-34
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Great to avoid those "oh $@*& moments!

Date:January 17, 2010
I have a different brand on my helmet but bought this one for my wife.
Yes, it does take some getting used to, but once you adjust the stem and figure out how to use the mirror, it becomes second nature. In fact, I still find myself glancing up & left and I have not been on my bike in 2 days!
Fitting hint: use masking tape to temporarily attach the mirror to your helmet. Then, go for a few rides to see if this location is ideal; if not, readjust + tape and ride again. Once you are satisfied with its location, ONLY THEN should you use the included double-sided tape to permanently affix the mirror.
Get one, it may very well save you from plowing into a car or fellow rider!
Pros: Simple, Good Value
Review 13 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: St. Johns, NL
Age: 18-24
Gender: male
MEC MEMBER

Not great if you wear glasses.

Date:October 21, 2009
First of all, I find that the mounting system for this is not great. It is very easy for it to be bumped around and for the sticky pad to fail and have it fall off.
Second, if you wear glasses it is hard to get it out far enough fo you can properly focus on the image in the mirror.
Third, for cold weather biking while wearing a hat under your helmet it almost puts the mirror up too high to be able to see the image.
I still use it everyday and it is fairly handy, but I think next time I would go with a handlebar mirror.
Pros: Good Value
Cons: Flimsy, Unreliable
Review 14 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Vancouver, BC
MEC MEMBER

Good Mirror

Date:August 19, 2009
Although this mirror takes a little getting used to, once you get comfortable with it you will wonder how you lived without it. I found it very easy to install, however I chose to install it to the outside of my helmet visor and then for extra stability I secured the base of the mirror to the visor with an elastic band. I also took my time figuring out just the right place for it, but it was well worth the effort because now I can see everything that’s happening behind me.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Review 15 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Effectiveness: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
By:
Location: Sherwood Park, AB.
Age: 35-44
Gender: male
Gear Style: Performance Driven
Describe Yourself: Avid Cyclist
MEC MEMBER

Keeps me from riding off the road but....

Date:July 30, 2009
Although I don't ride off narrow shoulders anymore, It isn't exactly easy to see cars. I find I have to turn my head to see. I've tried re-positioning it a number of times before I did the real stick on.
Decent enough. Like I said, keeps me on the road.
Not exactly "cheap" in price for a mirror.
Blocks a good portion of my forward vision. This bugs me.
I eventually took it off and it sits in the cup holder of my vehicle.
Pros: Lightweight, Simple
Cons: Expensive, blocks forward vision (periferal)
Review 16 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Victoria, BC
MEC MEMBER

a Genuine 'Third Eye' thats always THERE

Date:November 18, 2008
On a daily basis, I cycle approx. 10km each way to work passing through country and urban areas...with at times, a fair amount of traffic. On weekends I normally go for longer jaunts of around 80 km or so. I have become very dependent upon this 'third eye' as it gives me good 'situational awareness' on what's going on behind me the whole time and what to 'expect'. It acts very much like another 'eye' that is ALWAYS there! It is very easy to adjust and because of its nice size, (not too small) all I have to do is glance at it without having to turn my head due to it always being in front of me. Quality-wise it is strong as I have inadvertently dropped the helmet a few times and it has landed on the mirror and/or mirror arm with signs of stress or breakage.I suggest sticking it on the outside of the helmet shell (as opposed to the inside which is recommended by the instruction booklet) so as to get a more 'outside' and peripheral view. It comes with a sticking pad (and a spare) that stick on the mounting base once you have determined the exact location on the helmet you want to affix it. To find this 'ideal' position on where to stick the base of the mount, I suggest experimenting a few times using duct tape to hold the base mount on the helmet. It took me a few days of cycling (three different locations) to come up with the final 'ideal' location. The time spent doing this however is well worth it as the glue that is on the pad is super-powerful and once it has been stuck, good luck in getting it off again! For myself, I have the base stuck up at a slight angle just under where the peak joins the helmet.Overall an excellent product and one I definitely cannot do without.
Pros: Versatile, Lightweight, Easy to Use, Durable
Review 17 for Third Eye Mirror Foam Helmet Mount
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
By:
Location: Padova, Italy
VERIFIED REVIEWER

Great when riding in cities

Date:April 19, 2007
Great when riding in cities, after having used it for a while, I can't ride without helmet!
The only problem: hard to get outside USA and Canada (I live in Italy).
Ciao a tutti,
Gingo
Pros: Safety booster